Articulate

15 Feb

{ahr-tik-yuh-leyt} expressed, formulated or presented with clarity and effectiveness.

I’ve always had a thing for language. Me + Numbers. Bad. Me + Words. Good. Vocabulary intrigues (arouse the curiosity or interest of; fascinate) me. I know, big nerd. I have not 1, not 2, but 4 (!) apps on my phone that give me a word of the day. Gotta get my fix. In my defense 2 of them are in a foreign language (Italian & Spanish).

Words can be so powerful. The same word or string of words read or heard by two people can mean entirely different things. The meaning and tone attached is filtered through the experience of the person interpreting them.

For example; the word Health/Healthy has a very positive effect on me. Sounds like pretty chimes or bells ringing in my ears. Positive. I’m sure it does not however, have that same effect on everyone. Someone else may hear that word as a chore. The burden of not indulging in their favorite food or the pain of a difficult workout. On the other hand, when I hear the word Responsible/Responsibility (I even have a hard time typing it) I cringe and immediately feel overwhelmed. The cool thing about words is you can just replace them with something you prefer.

A little trick I learned. Watch this.

*Today I will make responsible choices. (burden)

*Today I will make healthy choices. (little bells)

voilà (to express satisfaction or approval, or to suggest an appearance as if by magic)

I decided to pick one word to attach to me to express and describe myself. My word is: Brilliant. Kiidding.

Disarming {dis-ahr-ming} removing or capable of removing hostility or suspicion, as by being charming.

What’s your word?

 Cheers!

BreeReal

My Love Letter is B

5 Responses to “Articulate”

  1. breereal February 15, 2011 at 11:20 am #

    “The language of friendship is not words, but meaning. It is intelligence above language.” Henry David Thoreau

  2. Ryan (SPK) February 15, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    Endure: to undergo (hardship, strain, privation, etc) without yielding

  3. Lauren Lee February 15, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

    You are so disarming!

  4. Matt February 15, 2011 at 4:59 pm #

    ​I’m so Burgundy! (To be classy, a big deal, singing in perfect occular tone and pitch, owning many leather bound books, smelling of sweet mahogany, owning a car with light interior, to have a great golden hawk in your loins, occasionally accepting calls from Wilt Chamberlain…etc

Leave a Reply

